Poroshenko has imposed a ban on Yandex, VKontakte, Aeroflot and other Russian companies in Ukraine

President Petro Poroshenko signed a Decree that introduced the decision of the National Security and Defense Council (NSDC) to update the list of sanctions against a number of Russian companies, including Aeroflot, VKontakte and Odnoklassniki, Yandex, as well as a number of media resources.

The Decree has been posted on the President’s website.

“In accordance with Article 107 of the Constitution of Ukraine, I resolve to: 1. Enact the decision of the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine as of April 28, 2017 “On Imposition of Personal Special Economic and Other Restrictive Measures (Sanctions)” (attached), stated in the Decree.

The NSDC decision provides for imposition of sanctions against a number of individuals and legal entities. In particular, against Yandex LLC, popular Russian social networks VKontakte, Odnoklassniki, mail service Mail.ru.

According to the decision, Internet providers should prohibit access to a number of Yandex resources/services, including Yandex maps yandex.ua/maps and other services of both Russian and Ukrainian Yandex.

Also among Russian companies that have been sanctioned are “Kaspersky Lab”, “Doctor Web”, “Aeroflot”, “1C” and a number of Russian airlines and companies, namely: “NTV”, “Almaz-Antey”, “Gazprombank”.

A number of Russian media have also been sanctioned, in particular: “Nashe Radio”, “Public Television of Russia”, “The Editorial Board of the Federation Council”, TV channels “Ren-TV”, “NTV Plus”, “TNT”, Closed Joint Stock Company “National Media Group”, International Information Agency “Russia Today”.

A full list of legal entities subject to sanctions can be found here .

Among the individuals who supplemented the list of sanctions are the so-called “ministers” and other members of the militant organizations of the “LPR” and “DPR”, many residents of Crimea, as well as Russian military and government officials. Among them are the permanent representative of the President of the Russian Federation in the Siberian region, the former “governor of the Sevastopol city” (until July 28, 2016) Sergey Menyaylo, State Duma deputy Yelena Mizulina.

The full list of individuals can be found here .

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone